Since I joined WordPress, Tumblr, Google+, Pinterest and Twitter…

I have found great authors I would never have come across. Before I decided to expand my social media presence I was in a lull with reading. I had a stable of authors from whom I would read. Big names like Neil Gaiman, Stephen King, Joe Hill, Joe Haldeman, Jack McDevitt, Robert Charles Wilson, and Terry Goodkind, to name a few, but I had reached the point where I had read all of their books. Random picks off Amazon didn’t go anywhere either.

 

Neil Gaiman, 2004

Neil Gaiman, 2004 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Then I joined WordPress, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest and Twitter. I started following authors, such as Cassandra Clare, Jennifer Bresnick, Charles Yallowitz, Scott Southard and Jennifer Nielsen…just to name a few, and through them I have come across even more authors to read and have added them to my TBR list, a list that has grown so long that I doubt I will be able to read them all, but that’s OK. It just means that I will forever have something to read, and that’s a comforting thought.

WordPress logo blue

Plus, now that I am reading a plethora of other authors, my old standbys have started to come out with new ones. Stephen King has Joyland out now. Neil Gaiman has The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I just finished Joe Hill’s latest, NOS4A2. Robert Wilson has a new novel coming out soon, and I keep bugging Joe Haldeman to put out another one.

Speaking of Joe Haldeman, if you even remotely enjoy science fiction–or just a good story, you should read The Forever War. It’s short. Succinct. But a very good read.

 

Joe Haldeman at Finncon 2007 in Jyväskylä, Fin...

Joe Haldeman at Finncon 2007 in Jyväskylä, Finland – July 2007 – Cropped version (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

So, I say to all I have followed and who are following me, thank you for filling what was once an empty reading list with the promise of many great stories.

 

3 thoughts on “Since I joined WordPress, Tumblr, Google+, Pinterest and Twitter…

Leave a Reply

