Story ideas post novel

After I complete my first draft I am going to work on something completely different for a month while I let the first draft stew in a drawer somewhere.

A couple of ideas. My first is based on my time spent at the Lockheed Martin Skunkworks. Nothing, of course, will be true or from real life, because that would cause me all sorts of trouble, but the story will be inspired by the hopes and dreams I have had while working here.

The second idea just came to me when I saw a story on a different way aliens may travel through the universe. They would propel their entire solar system through space. Their solar system would be the generational space ship. Imagine that. Imagine the stories.

Link to the article: http://huff.to/1clAOqY

I think both ideas offer succulent meat for the next story. I don’t know yet if it will be a short story or novella, but I do know that the story will not be a novel.

What do you do after you finish the first draft of your novel?

Because I will be on vacation for a week and away from the internet as much as possible, I apologize for not approving any comments until I return.

14 thoughts on “Story ideas post novel

  1. That’s a great idea! It’s amazing what you see in your manuscript with fresh eyes after a bit of a break. Enjoy it!

    • How soon after you finish your first draft do you begin editing? This is the first time I’ve completed the first draft of a novel and I am excited to begin the editing process.

      • Well, every time I start writing, I always reread the previous chapter which usually turns into an editing session. After I finished the first draft of the Four Treasures of Eirean, I think I went on holiday for three weeks and then had kids off school, so probably about 6 weeks. serious editing is HARD…and it can be hard to know when to stop! Do you have a writing buddy who can edit for you when you are done? I had this arrangement with an author pal, we edited for each other, and it’s amazing what you miss! I’d also think now about your marketing plan; I did nothing in the run up to launch, had no idea, and so consequently am back pedalling and trying to play catch up, which doesn’t work!.

      • I reread the previous chapter as well, and of course that turns into an editing session. Writing by hand in my journal helps as well because I go slow enough to catch the horrible mistakes, and then I transcribe to the computer, which catches even more.
        My wife’s aunt has written a few books, and some in her family are English teachers, as is my good friend from high school. Preliminary editing I have covered, but what do you think about sending it off to a well-credentialed editor who specializes in your genre? I’m willing to pay the price to even learn a few things.

        No marketing plan yet, but that’s next on the list. The editing process is going to take a while, I imagine.

        Always good to talk to you.

  2. I like that second idea. After a first draft, I do an editing room solely for spelling and grammar. This way, I don’t have to worry as much on those when I read for continuity and sense. Once that’s done, I read, outline a future story, or work on the next book of the series.

      • It depends on how you look at it. I edit my previous day’s work to make sure I have the flow going. On the first 3 books, I waited a month to do editing. The 4th book was an immediate edit. I’m thinking of waiting a month or a few weeks after the 5th one. Probably edit the 4th again while waiting. It’s a juggling act with me.

  3. Chris, I forgot to give you the name of the author who wrote my rewrite bible: Elizabeth Lyon. I’ve practically worn out her “Manuscript Makeover: Revision Techniques No Fiction Writer Can Afford to Ignore, Enhance style, clarify structure, Deepen characterization, Clean up punctuation and Syntax.”
    I’ve also used her “Sell Your Novel Tool Kit: Everything You Need to Know About Queries, Synopses, Marketing and Breaking In.” She’s written several other books also. She’s a wonderful speaker at writing conferences, if you ever get a chance to attend one of her sessions.

  4. Hi Christopher, I think if you can afford to send your manuscript to a bona fide editor, you should do it. Why not? We need all the help we can get to compete with the big boys! I looked into that, too, but it’s very expensive, way out of my budget, unfortunately. Also, I think finding the right person who you can connect with, who gets you and your book, and also your future books, is probably the hardest part of the process, and very important. Recommendations are probably key, here. Do you have someone in mind already?

Leave a Reply

