Giddy as a School Boy

I have never been one to be giddy over a television show or series. The one television series I looked forward to every week, the one that left an imprint on my mind is Star Trek: The Next Generation.

All Good Things had to come to an end...

All Good Things had to come to an end…

The series came out in the late 80’s, and every week I looked forward to sitting down and watching the show with my family. But this post is not about Star Trek: The Next Generation.

No, no. Tor announced that Patrick Rothfuss’s Kingkiller Chronicles have been optioned for television.

As I said on Facebook, “OMG OMG OMG.”

If you have not read these books, stop what you are doing and read them. Immediately. And then revel in their awesome sauce. Really. Bathe in it. And know that you are reading the words of a modern day Picasso of words.

Yes, my middle name is Picasso. Now, back off.

Yes, my middle name is Picasso. Now, back off.

My only fear is that Fox will not do the books justice. I wish HBO had picked up the series. From Game of Thrones you can tell that they know how to translate a fantasy saga to television. Fox, on the other hand, killed Firefly.

Do you think Fox can do the books justice?

4 thoughts on “Giddy as a School Boy

    • A few of the Next Generation episodes I would consider classics, especially Inner Light–the one where Picard’s consciousness if forced to live out an entire life on an alien planet, as a means for that species to pass on its history and culture, since it has been doomed by a star going nova.

  1. Yeah… I’ll pretty much have to hate them forever for cancelling Firefly… though I do love Nathan Fillion as Castle… and it’s funny I saw this today… I was quoting Picard earlier… my husband was wondering about how one spot is in town and right next to it is considered rural… I couldn’t miss the opportunity to be like “The line must be drawn here, this far, no farther!”… ahh Star Trek…

Leave a Reply

